ADHM 2009

Welcome     Login | Signup   ADHM Community | Runners Wall | Members| Tag | Discussions | Support a cause
7:30 am start for Half Marathon, too late?
| More

Tanvir Kazmi
06 October 2009, 15:12:29

I have been running the Delhi Half marathon since it started in 2005, and every year I have the same complaint. The 7:30 am start is too late for a half-marathon. By the time most runners finish, it is well past 9:30, rather 10:00 am, and even in late October or early November, that is quite hot. Once you are on to the India Gate / Rajpath stretch, the heat starts getting to you. Would request organizers to think about this for the future events.

Even the Mumbai marathon has similar issues, they start around 7:40 am, though from last year, they have started an early start too at 6:30 am, which is a great initiative. I hope that the organizers can follow suite for Delhi as well.

What do you guys think, is 7:30 am okay, or maybe 6:30 am would be too early for folks coming from a bit far off places like Gurgaon, Faridabad, Ghaziabad and Noida?

-Tanvir (delhirunners.com)

Re: 7:30 am start for Half Marathon, too late?
| More

Rajesh
06 October 2009, 15:34:58

Tanvir, if it is for delhiites only than 6 :30am is ok.. People come from different parts of country, we have to takethat also in consideration..

It is not about Gurgaon, Faridabad, Ghaziabad and Noida people participate from all acrossthe world..

| More

Tanvir Kazmi
06 October 2009, 20:42:54

Wow Rajesh, I hope the international runners do not fly into India on the morning of the run. Otherwise they would be too tired to run at all :) Same is the case for outstation runners too, they have to collect their running numbers etc in Delhi before the run day, so all of them are there in Delhi or around and can reach the venue in time, I do not see any issues with that. And how does that work for Mumbai marathon, an event much larger in scale compared to Delhi?